Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Four win WSU leadership awards

Leadership award winnersClockwise, from top left, Janna Carter, John Larson, Kelsea Holbrook, and Rebecca Stern.

Every year, a few dozen WSU students are honored for their extraordinary leadership skills with the President’s Award for Leadership. In the past, Global Campus students have won a couple of times. But this year brought an unprecedented surprise: Four of the winners are Global Campus students. They are:

Janna Carter
Kelsea Holbrook
John Larson
Rebecca Stern

All four are involved with ASWSU Global, the online student government. The ceremony will be live-streamed starting at 5:30 p.m. April 24. To tune in, just select this live-stream link.

Both Carter and Larson will attend the ceremony.


“For the past several years, I have passionately worked in my local community and on behalf of all WSU Global students to give them a voice,” said Carter, ASWSU Global vice president. “I would have done it regardless of the award, but it is very generous for someone to have recognized me in this way and I feel very privileged!”

Larson, incoming ASWSU Global president, said the news took him by surprise. “I didn’t believe it at first,” he said. “I’m always the last to figure those types of thing out.”

Stern and Holbrook will be watching the live-stream.

“I am very excited and honored to have won the President's Award,” said Stern, ASWSU Global secretary. “Although I am an online student, I don't feel like any less of a Coug! This award proves that Global Campus students can both contribute to the WSU community and be recognized for their efforts.”

“It was very validating to know that such a high level of the university recognized my involvement in the school, and it definitely reinforced my feeling like a Coug – being a distance student hasn't held me back from making the most of my collegiate experience,” said Holbrook, incoming ASWSU Global vice president. “It might be different than the typical campus experience, but I have found it to be just as fulfilling.”

The awards ceremony is 5-7 p.m. April 24 at WSU Pullman, and will be live-streamed starting at 5:30. For more information, please go to To tune in,  select the live-stream link.

1 comment:

  1. Congratulations to all 4 - I know the ASWSU Global student government team has accomplished much this year!